MGA Press Release
Thursday, July 26 2001

Two Sites to Host USGA Amateur Qualifying

EDINA, Minn. The Legacy at Craguns and Dellwood Hills Golf Club in Dellwood will serve as the two qualifying sites for the 101st USGA Amateur Championship to be held at Eastlake Golf Club in Atlanta, August 20-26.

39 players will battle for the two available spots at The Legacy, Monday, August 6.  Included in the field are Joe Stansberry of Bloomington, MGA Amateur Runner-up John Carlson of Bagley and MGA Mid-Amateur Champion Tony Brown of Plymouth.

73 players are competing at Dellwood Hills Golf Club, Tuesday August 7 for the three berths available.   Included in the field is James Oh, the 1998 USGA Junior Amateur Champion from Lakewood, CA.  Oh defeated Aaron Baddeley 1-up in the 1998 finals played at Conway Farms GC in Lake Forest, IL.  Locally, MGA Amateur Champion Ben Meyers is entered (paired with Oh), along with MGA Players Champion Jered Gusso.

The qualifying stage is a single day, 36-hole event.  Pairings for both sites are listed below.


Pairings, USGA Amateur Qualifying Legacy Courses at Craguns Par 72, 6,765 yards


Tee No. 1 (AM)  Tee No. 10 (PM)

7:30/12:30               Jay Cavanagh, Perham, MN

                                Alex Hoffman, Mankato, MN

                                Luke Elfner, Apple Valley, MN

7:40/12/40               Wade Tollison, Woodbury, MN

                                Bill Bertram, St. Paul, MN

                                Steve Whittaker, Becker, MN

7:50/12:50               Matt Gorden, Detroit Lakes, MN

                                Jim Lehman, Minneapolis, MN

                                Brian Dant, Chaska, MN

8:00/1:00                 James Marsh, Paradise Valley

                                Richard Blooston, Edina, MN

                                Trevor Nelko, Plymouth, MN

8:10/1:10                 James Keller, Green Bay, WI

                                Tim Andersen, Minnetonka, MN

                                Brandon Askew, Fargo, ND

8:20/1:20                 Bart Bradford, Hutchinson, MN

                                Phil Mahal, Edina, MN

                                Eric Peterson, Benson, MN

8:30/1:30                 Jason Rudquist, Minneapolis, MN

                                Ben Greve, Annandale, MN

                                Brad Yzerman, New Hope, MN

8:40/1:40                 Ralph Baxley, Apple Valley, MN

                                Ben Marsh, Paradise Valley

                                Eric Winter, St. Cloud, MN

8:50/1:50                 Jason Holm, Minocqua, WI

                                Neal Hegge, Fargo, ND

                                Robert Schuler, Wahpeton, ND

9:00/2:00                 Jay Kautt, St. Louis Park, MN

                                Levi Fladebo, Waite Park, MN

                                Joe Stansberry, Bloomington, MN

9:10/2:10                 Aaron Anderson, Fargo, ND

                                Jerry Gruidl, Plymouth, MN

                                John Carlson, Bagley, MN

9:20/2:20                 Matt Torgerson, Turtle Lake, WI

                                Scott Mathias, Duluth, MN

                                Tony Brown, Plymouth, MN

9:30/2:30                 JT Johnson, Woodbury, MN

                                Mark Boettcher, St. Louis Park, MN

                                John Bunten, Nisswa, MN



Pairings, USGA Amateur Qualifying Dellwood Hills GC, Dellwood, MN Par 72, 7,118 yards


Tee No. 10 (AM), Tee No. 1 (PM)

7:30/12:30               Matt Witham, St. Paul, MN

                                Rick McArdle, Eden Prairie, MN

                                Greg Jamieson, Stillwater, MN

7:40/12:40               Zach Dufresne, Long Lake, MN

                                Phil Ebner, Minneapolis, MN

                                Brady Swedberg, Alexandria, MN

7:50/12:50               Jason Glaser, Oakdale, MN

                                Chip Parks, Plymouth, MN

                                Erik Christopherson, Minneapolis, MN

8:00/1:00                 Larry Barnacle, Pine Springs

                                Chris Shearen, St. Paul, MN

                                Joe Rizzo, Coon Rapids, MN

8:10/1:10                 Scott Duerscherl, Colfax

                                Charles Evans, Minnetonka, MN

                                Jon Hanner, Maple Plain, MN

8:20/1:20                 Ian Hessels,  Stillwater, MN

                                Kevin Overgaard, Lino Lakes, MN

                                John Sullivan, Inver Grove Hts., MN

8:30/1:30                 Adam Riddering, Maple Grove, MN

                                Neil Johnson, River Falls, WI

                                Joe Dargay, Coon Rapids, MN

8:40/1:40                 James Oh, Lakewood, MN

                                Ben Meyers, Minneapolis, MN

                                Todd Samarzia, Stillwater, MN

8:50/1:50                 Jered Gusso, Savage, MN 

                                Jeff Shourds, Burnsville, MN

                                Tony Morrow, Golden Valley, MN

9:00/2:00                 J.B. Lloyd, Wayzata, MN

                                Leif Carlson, Bloomington

                                Todd Stead, Mound, MN

9:10/2:10                 Kevin Oswald, Duluth, MN

                                Terry Moores III, St. Paul, MN

                                Todd Sinjem, Brooklyn Park, MN

9:20/2:20                 HJ Hoppmann, St. Louis Park

                                Reed Kolquist, Hermantown, MN

                                Joseph Goar, Minnetonka, MN




No. 1 (AM), Tee No. 10 (PM)             

7:30/12:30               JP Prenevost, LeSueur, MN

                                Todd Swiler, St. Louis Park, MN

7:40/12:40               Berry Henson, La Quinta, CA

                                Tommy Rymer, Hastings, MN

7:50/12:50               Dan Howard, St. Paul, MN

                                Tom Smith, Lakeville, MN

                                Tyler Anderson, Apple Valley, MN

8:00/1:00                 Jeff Teal, Bloomington, MN

                                John Scanlon, Stillwater, MN

                                Ryan Quinn, Galesville

8:10/1:10                 David Isaacson, North Oaks, MN

                                Tim Kelley, Minnetonka, MN

                                Rudy Luther, Edina, MN

8:20/1:20                 Scott Ainsworth, Plymouth, MN

                                Mitch Thornell, Lakeville, MN

                                Steve LaFreniere, Andover, MN

8:30/1:30                 Leduc, Jacob, St. Paul, MN

                                Mike Larson, Rochester, MN

                                Steve Agazzi, Seabrook Island

8:40/1:40                 Matt Anderson, Edina, MN

                                Mike Shaffer, Shakopee, MN

                                Steve Hjortness, Rochester, MN

8:50/1:50                 Hans Anderson, Zumbrota, MN

                                Rick Ehrmanntraut, St. Paul, MN

                                Steve Knutson, Lakeville, MN

9:00/2:00                 Jay Coatta, Minnetrista, MN

                                Bill Conroy, Medina, MN

                                Bruce Summerhays, Jr., Salt Lake City

9:10/2:10                 Dane Shepley, Arden Hills, MN

                                Bill Lawson, Forest Lake, MN

                                Brandon Kolquist, Duluth, MN

9:20/2:20                 David Erickson, Edina, MN

                                William Murphy, Plymouth, MN

                                Greg Peterson, Rochester, MN

9:30/2:30                 Marshall Nowlin, Stillwater, MN

                                Mike Wanless, Maplewood, MN

                                Eric Rolland, White Bear Lake, MN


facebook facebook