Minnesota Golf Association

Dozen Past Champs in U.S. Senior Open Field

May 9, 2019

Seven former U.S. Open champs are also in the field including the 1996 British Open Champ, Tom Lehman, of Alexandria, Minn. 

LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. (May 9, 2019) - The United States Golf Association (USGA) today announced that it has accepted 2,796 entries for the 40th U.S. Senior Open Championship, scheduled for June 27-30, 2019 at the Warren Golf Course at Notre Dame, in South Bend, Ind. Twelve past champions are among the 79 players who are currently fully exempt into the championship.

David Toms, the 2018 champion, and 11 other Senior Open champions are fully exempt from having to qualify for the championship. They are: Olin Browne (2011), Brad Bryant (2007), Roger Chapman (2012), Fred Funk (2009), Hale Irwin (1998, 2000), Peter Jacobsen (2004), Bernhard Langer (2010), Jeff Maggert (2015), Colin Montgomerie (2014), Kenny Perry (2013, 2017), and Gene Sauers (2016).

“The worldwide interest in the U.S. Senior Open, considered senior golf’s most prestigious championship, continues to remain at a high level and the Warren Golf Course at Notre Dame will provide a strong test for a competitive field,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director for Championships. “The USGA is excited to bring the U.S. Senior Open to the Michiana region and we look forward to awarding the Francis D. Ouimet Memorial Trophy to the champion.”
The U.S. Senior Open is open to professional golfers, and amateurs with a Handicap Index® not exceeding 3.4 who are 50 years of age at the start of championship play.

Sectional qualifying will be played over 18 holes at 34 sites across the United States between May 13 and June 10. There are qualifying sites in 26 states, including five in California, three in Florida and two in Georgia and Texas. In addition, places in the 156-player field are reserved for eligible winners of official PGA Tour and PGA Tour Champions events in the weeks remaining before the 2019 U.S. Senior Open.

The USGA accepted entries from golfers in 48 states, including 56 from Indiana, and the District of Columbia, as well as 32 foreign countries. More than 2,700 entries have been filed in five of the last seven years. The record for entries was established in 2002, when 3,101 golfers applied to play.

In addition, there are seven U.S. Open champions among the 79 exempt players. They are: three-time champion Irwin (1974, 1979, 1990), two-time champion Lee Janzen (1993, 1998), two-time champion Retief Goosen (2001, 2004), Michael Campbell (2005), Tom Kite (1992), Corey Pavin (1995) and Tom Watson (1982). There are also eight U.S. Open runners-up entered. They are: Miguel Angel Jimenez (2000), Tom Lehman (1996), Davis Love III (1996), Rocco Mediate (2008), Montgomerie (1994, 1997, 2006), Loren Roberts (1994), Jeff Sluman (1992) and Watson (1983, 1987).

Dave Antill, a 52-year-old amateur from Dublin, Ohio, submitted his entry three seconds before the deadline of 5 p.m. EDT on May 8. Mick Soli, a 65-year-old professional from San Carlos, Calif., was the first entrant on Feb. 20.
Designed by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw, the Warren Golf Course at Notre Dame will be the first collegiate course to host a U.S. Senior Open. This will be the 19th USGA championship held on a college-affiliated layout and the 2019 U.S. Senior Open will be the 22nd USGA championship contested in Indiana.

More information about the U.S. Senior Open before, during and after the 2019 championship at the Warren Golf Course at Notre Dame can be found at ussenioropen.com.

The list of the 79 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2019 U.S. Senior Open (as of May 8):
Stephen Ames   Jay Haas   Gary Orr
Billy Andrade   Scott Hoch   Scott Parel
Magnus Atlevi   Kohki Idoki   Corey Pavin
Woody Austin   Hale Irwin   Tom Pernice Jr.
Paul Broadhurst   Peter Jacobsen   Kenny Perry
Olin Browne   Lee Janzen   Tim Petrovic
Bart Bryant   Miguel Angel Jimenez   Philip Price
Brad Bryant   Brandt Jobe   Jean-Francois Remesy
Mark Calcavecchia   Kent Jones   Loren Roberts
Michael Campbell   Jerry Kelly   Gene Sauers
Roger Chapman   Jong-Duck Kim   Wes Short Jr.
Darren Clarke   Tom Kite   Vijay Singh
John Cook   a-Sean Knapp   Jeff Sluman
Fred Couples   Bernhard Langer   Paul Streeter
Marco Dawson   Paul Lawrie   Steve Stricker
Glen Day   Tom Lehman   Kevin Sutherland
Clark Dennis   Davis Love III   Toru Suzuki
Chris DiMarco   Jeff Maggert   Ken Tanigawa
Stephen Dodd   Prayad Marksaeng   David Toms
Scott Dunlap   Billy Mayfair   Kirk Triplett
Joe Durant   Scott McCarron   Scott Verplank
Bob Estes   a-Michael McCoy   Duffy Waldorf
Steve Flesch   Rocco Mediate   Tom Watson
Peter Fowler   Gregory Meyer   Chris Williams
Fred Funk   Shaun Micheel   a-Jeff Wilson
Retief Goosen   Colin Montgomerie    
Paul Goydos   Mark O’Meara    
BOLD - U.S. Senior Open champion    

6550 York Avenue South, Suite 211 • Edina, MN 55435 • (952) 927-4643 • (800) 642-4405 • Fax: (952) 927-9642
© 2014 Minnesota Golf Association. All Rights Reserved