Minnesota Golf Association

120th MGA Annual Meeting Oct. 27 at Brackett's Crossing Goes Virtual

October 28, 2020

EDINA, Minn. (Oct. 28, 2020) – The Minnesota Golf Association’s 120th Annual Meeting was held Tuesday, Oct. 27, at Brackett’s Crossing Country Club in Lakeville. Because of the Covid-19 pandemic and restrictions on indoor events, the board meeting and business meeting were conducted virtually online. In this biennial year, the MGA introduced a new slate of officers led by incoming president, Mike Malone, incoming vice president, Ede Rice, of Edina, and incoming secretary/treasurer, Paul Meierant, also of Edina.   

In comments to the board, Malone extended his heartfelt appreciation to outgoing MGA President Tom Smith for his tireless service and thanked the directors who’ve served the association with their energy and integrity.

“We have a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to continue this surge in the play of golf, ” Malone said, noting the remarkable spike in rounds played in Minnesota this season. “Golf is an undeniably pleasant way to spend time outdoors with friends and family while maintaining safe social distancing. Let’s continue to work together to involve more Minnesotans in experiencing the positive attributes of this great game.”

Malone, 66, of Edina, is a lifelong PGA professional, and the first to be elected to lead the MGA. He is a former board member of the Minnesota Section of the PGA, as well as, a two-term president of the Midwest Golf Course Owners’ Association. In 1985, he and his late father, Stan, established Versatile Vehicles, a company which is now the Midwest distributor of E-ZGO golf carts. In 2000, Malone built an 18-hole public daily-fee golf course in Jordan, Ridges of Sand Creek, home to the annual MSHSL Class AA state golf championship, and an endeavor that he calls his most rewarding.
The entire slate of new officers includes: Joe Conzemius, Metro Regional Vice President, Skip Hambright, Southeast Regional Vice President, Glenn Hasselberg, Northwest Regional Vice President, Shannon Klick, Metro Regional Vice President, Mark Loosbrock, Southwest Regional Vice President, Jeff May, Membership Development Vice President, Nora McGuire, Women’s Vice President, Mike Stone, Northeast Regional Vice President, and John Young, West Central Regional Vice President.  

The board also approved the election of new directors to three-year terms, 2021-2023. They include: Teresa Compton, Rum River Hills GC, Austin Eaton, Brackett’s Crossing CC, Rob Etten, Midland Hills CC, Mary Flynn, Hazeltine National GC, Joan Frie, Monticello CC, Ekren Miller, Bemidji Town & CC, Rollie Penfield, The Vintage GC, Mark Ronnei, Grand View Lodge, Jerry Rose, Alexandria GC, and Rick Shefchik, Stillwater CC.
The MGA announced its year-end award winners, the MGA Players of the Year, the MGA Fritz Corrigan Evans Scholar of the Year, and the MGA Member Club of the Year, in a news release dated Oct. 15, 2020, click here. Due to Covid-19 pandemic, the association’s annual awards banquet has been postponed.   
                                                      About the MGA
Established in 1901, with the formation by seven golf clubs to organize the state’s most prestigious and storied golf championship, the MGA Amateur Championship, the Minnesota Golf Association is today the governing body over amateur golf in the state, responsible for administering the Rules of Golf, and committed to upholding and promoting the game of golf and its values for all golfers in Minnesota.
The MGA conducts 23 major amateur championships and 14 USGA qualifying events each year. Thanks to the support of its member clubs and associate members and the efforts of its volunteers and staff, the MGA provides a variety of services such as handicapping, course rating and measuring, an online golf news and information resource, www.mngolf.org , and an official publication, Minnesota Golfer magazine, which benefit all golfers throughout Minnesota.

6550 York Avenue South, Suite 211 • Edina, MN 55435 • (952) 927-4643 • (800) 642-4405 • Fax: (952) 927-9642
© 2014 Minnesota Golf Association. All Rights Reserved