Minnesota Golf Association

MGA's Hoffmann Named MN Section PGA Professional of the Year

November 19, 2019

COON RAPIDS, Minn. (Nov.19, 2019) -- The Minnesota Section of the PGA has announced its annual Minnesota PGA Award Recipients including naming Doug Hoffmann, of Apple Valley, as its Golf Professional of the Year

Hoffmann, 60, is the director of rules and competitions for the Minnesota Golf Association, a position he has held since 1998. 

The PGA Professional of the Year is one of the highest honors the Minnesota Section can bestow on its members, and signifies outstanding qualities of leadership, strong moral character, a substantial record of service to the game and regard among his or her peers as a model professional. 

Additional honoreers include: 

Teacher of the Year – Aaron Jacobson, Rush Creek Golf Club
Horton Smith Award – Nick Pelle, Golftec-Minnetonka
Bill Strausbaugh Award – Lisa Schwinden, Osgood Golf Course
Youth Development Award – Chris Foley, Legacy Courses at Craguns
Player Development Award – Lance West, Golftec Academy-Bunker Hills
Assistant Professional of the Year – Andy Smith, Hazeltine National Golf Club
Facility Promoter of the Year, Private Facility – David Plotnik, Brackett's Crossing Country Club
Facility Promoter of the Year, Resort Facility – Ryan Peterson, Wilderness @ Fortune Bay Resort
Facility Promoter of the Year, Public Facility – Steve Whillock, Oak Marsh Golf Club
Patriot Award – Bennett Menton, PGA Tour Superstore-Minnetonka
Steve Weidner Award – Don Johnson, posthumously
Women’s Player of the Year – Lori Money, Deer Run Golf Club
Player of the Year – Don Berry, Edinburgh USA Golf Club
Assistant Player of the Year – Thomas Campbell, 2nd Swing Golf-Minnetonka
Senior Player of the Year – Don Berry, Edinburgh USA Golf Club

For more information on these awards, please visit www.minnesotapga.com.


6550 York Avenue South, Suite 211 • Edina, MN 55435 • (952) 927-4643 • (800) 642-4405 • Fax: (952) 927-9642
© 2014 Minnesota Golf Association. All Rights Reserved