Minnesota Golf Association

Top Seeds All Advance through 1st-Round Matches at DL

August 12, 2016

DETROIT LAKES -- Nine first-round matches were won by lower-seeded players on Thursday at the Pine to Palm Golf Tournament, but there were no major upsets. 

The top three seeds -- co-medalists Charlie Duensing (No.1), Peter Jones (No. 2) and Ben Skogen (No. 3) -- all advanced. Jones, who will be a sophomore at the University of Minnesota in a month, was pushed to the 17th hole before he could dispatch Caleb Ketterling 2&1. His Gopher teammate Duensing, a junior-to-be, was done three holes earlier in a 5&4 victory over Tanner Kretchman.

Skogen, a soon-to-be senior at Wisconsin, had the shortest day of the three guys who shot 134 in qualifying. He defeated Joey Wagner 6&5.

As a matter of fact, the top 11 seeds advanced, and none of them saw the 18th hole.

The highest seed to be ambushed was No. 12 Pat Dietz, who was beaten 1 up by Matt Sieg of Osseo, Wis. Sieg, the No. 53 seed, is a former third-place finisher the Division 3 portion of the Wisconsin state high school tournament who led Osseo-Fairchild to a state team championship. He will be a junior at the University of Missouri-Kansas City this fall.

Another victim of a lower-seeded player was No. 17 Thomas Longbella. But he was beaten 1 up by Gopher senior-to-be William Leaf (No. 48), a former Minnesota state high school runner-up from Winona. So that result was hardly an upset. 

Pine to Palm veteran Michael Kosiek (No. 25) -- he was a quarterfinalist two years ago -- defeated recently crowned Birchmont champ Andrew Israelson in extra holes. Israelson was seeded No. 40. 

Greg Melhus, knocked off No. 24 Thomas Strandemo, a former Minnesota State Junior champ who reached the semifinals of the 2014 Pine to Palm. But once again, this victory by the lower (No. 41) seed was not an upset. Melhus has an impressive resusme that includes winning the 2003 Pine to Palm, finishing second in 2001 and winning the 2010 MGA Mid-Players (Mid-Am Match Play) Championship.       

Pine to Palm Golf Tournament

At Detroit Country Club

Detroit Lakes

Match Play

First round

(1) Charlie Duensing, Sandy, Utah, def. (64) Tanner Kretchman, Fargo,  5&4

(2) Peter Jones, Owatonna, def. (63) Caleb Ketterling, Napoleon, N.D.,  2&1

(3) Ben Skogen, Onalaska, Wis., def. (62) Joey Wagner, Dickinson, N.D., 6&5

(4) Dan Johnson, Elk River, def. (61) Cole Johnson, Fargo, 3&2

(5) Will Czeh, Roseau, def. (60) Mason Fiddle, White Bear Lake, 3&1

(6) Justin Doeden, Lakeville, def. (59) Austen Strom, Fargo, 4&3

(7) Beau Hanson, Frazee, def (58) Tim Sanford, Elk River, 4&3

(8) Riley Johnson, Fargo, def. (57) Austen Rene, Jamestown, N.D., 5&3

(9) Jordan Hahn, Spriing Grove, Ill., def. (56) Alex Koopmeiners, St. Cloud, 5&4

(10) Brandon Sletmoen, Dilworth, def. (55) Cory Papachek, Fargo, 2&1

(11) Chris Swenson, Fergus Falls, def. Aaron Smith, Mahnomen, 5&4

(53) Matthew Sieg, Osseo, Wis., def. (12) Pat Dietz, Moorhead, 1 up

(13) Bill Carlson, Fargo, def. (52) Lucas Johnson, Moorhead, 6&5

(14) Matt Rachey, Waconia, def. (51) Alex Gabriel, Princeton, 2&1

(15) Connor Holland, West Fargo, def. (50) Eric Harris, Rushford, 4&2

(16) Michael Abrahamson,Chicago, def. (49) Justin Nelson, Wahpeton, 4&3

(48) William Leaf, Winona, def. (17) Thomas Longbella, Chippewa Falls, Wis., 1 up

(18) Nick Olsgaard, Moorhead, def. (47) Tanner Schnathorst, Detroit Lakes, 1 up

(19) Nick Myhre, Rolette, N.D., def. (46) Andrew Passanante, Moorhead, 4&3 

(20) Grady Meyer, Fargo, def. (45) Kyle Jandro, Fargo, 6&5

(44) Lincoln Cizek, Shalopee, def. (21) Blake Kahlbaugh, Mahnomen, 19 holes 

(43) Jon Miller, Moorhead, def. (22) Bryant Buckellew, Tempe, Ariz., 5&4

(42) Hunter Thorsen, Moorhead, def. (23) Jacob Dehne, Bismarck, 3&2

(41) Greg Melhus, West Fargo, def. (24) Thomas Strandemo, Fargo, 5&3

(25) Michael Kosiek, Minnetonka, def. (40) Andrew Israelson, Staples, 19 holes

(39) Marc Vincelli, Denver, def. (26) Tyler Schlotfeldt, Moorhead, 3&2

(38) Tanner Lane, Detroit Lakes, def. (27) Rick Kuhn, Mandan, N.D., 2&1

(28) Colton Murphy, Mandan, N.D., def. (37) Jon Rubis, West Fargo, 3&1

(29) Cade Montplaisir, Mesa, Ariz., def. (36) Jordie Siverson, Moorhead, 1 up

(33) Gus Minkin, York, Pa., def. (30) Erik Weiss, Moorhead, 5&3

(31) Ben Mallow, Pelican Rapids,  def. (34) Jackson Foth, Lenexa, Kansas, 2&1

(33) Chris James, Walker, def. (32) Lukas Davison, Sioux Falls, 2&1 

Qualifying results 

T1. Charlie Duensing    68-66--134

T1. Peter Jones            67-67--134

T1. Ben Skogen           65-69--134

T4. Dan Johnson         70-65--135

T4. Will Czeh             67-68--135

6. Justin Doeden          67-69--136

T7. Jordan Hahn          68-70--138

T7. Beau Hanson        71-67--138

T7. Riley Johnson        69-69--138

T7. Brandon Sletmoen 71-67--138

T11. Chris Swenson     72-67--139

T11. Pat Deitz               72-67--139

T11. Bill Carlson           69-70--139

T11. Matt Rachey         69-79--139

T11. Connor Holland    71-68--139


6550 York Avenue South, Suite 211 • Edina, MN 55435 • (952) 927-4643 • (800) 642-4405 • Fax: (952) 927-9642
© 2014 Minnesota Golf Association. All Rights Reserved