Ms. and Mr. Minnesota Golf Finalists Announced

June 8, 2023 | 2 min.
By Warren P Ryan

EDINA, Minn. (June 8, 2023) -- The Ms. and Mr. Minnesota Golf Committee is pleased to announce the 2023 finalists of top female and male high school senior golfers in Minnesota. They are:

Ms. Minnesota Golf
Rose Baynes, Eden Prairie
Hannah Boraas, Alexandria Area
Kate Burke, Edina
Avery O’Donnell, Elk River
Izzy Olson, Brainerd
Nicole Reineke, Chaska
Kathryn VanArragon, Blaine
Victoria Woytassek, Jordan

Mr. Minnesota Golf
Josh Esterley, Chaska
Kagan Kollar, Maple Grove 
Joseph Rohlwing, Eastview
Zach Rouleau, Farmington
Kyler Schwamb, Farmington
Drew Teeter, Albert Lea
Max Wilson, Roseau
Joseph Wisocki, Willmar
From the group of finalists, two individual golfers will be presented with the award, Ms. and Mr. Minnesota Golf, at 7 p.m., Sunday June 11 at Windsong Farm Golf Club in Independence, Minn.

Ede Rice, 70, of Edina, Minn., the president of the Minnesota Golf Association, will be the keynote speaker. She was the first woman elected to the MGA board as a director in 1994 and was ultimately recognized for her long record of volunteerism with the Warren J. Rebholz Distinguished Service Award, the MGA’s highest honor, in 2012. As a passionate advocate for the caddie scholars at the University of Minnesota Evans Scholars Chapter House, Rice has had an impact on virtually every Evans scholar for the past 25 years. She became a Western Golf Association director in 1995, and the first woman elected to the WGA Board of Governors in 2010. In recognition of her exceptional commitment, dedication and devotion to the WGA and the Evans Scholarship Program, Rice was awarded the WGA’s 2021 Donald D. Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award. Certified as a Rules of Golf expert, Rice has volunteered at more than 39 USGA championships. In 2022, she received the USGA’s Joe Dey Award, given in recognition of an individual’s meritorious service to the game as a volunteer (it is named for Joseph C. Dey, Jr., a former USGA executive director and World Golf Hall of Fame member).   

About the Ms. and Mr. Minnesota Golf Award
The annual award was created in 2016 to recognize the outstanding male and female high school senior golfer based on their performance on the golf course, academic achievement and strength of character. Finalists are chosen by a committee of high school coaches and amateur golf representatives. 

For more information, contact Phil Ebner, committee chair, at 952-500-2784, or 


Warren P Ryan

W.P. Ryan is the MGA’s communications director and editor of Minnesota Golfer magazine. Prior to his communications career, he has worked at several golf clubs in Florida, Maryland and Minnesota "guarding the Titleists" and teaching the game to junior golfers. 

Contact Us

Contact Us

6550 York Avenue South, Suite 411 • Edina, MN 55435 • (952) 927-4643 • (800) 642-4405 • Fax: (952) 927-9642
© 2024 Minnesota Golf Association. All Rights Reserved